Jean Broadfoot Trophy


Jean Broadfoot Trophy

Jean Broadfoot Trophy

Awarded for the most outstanding performance in a Piano Sonata Class, Grade 9 to Honours 

Family and friends donated the Jean Broadfoot Trophy to the Winnipeg Music Festival in 1997.

Miss Broadfoot was granted her Licentiate of the Royal School of Music in 1939 and her Licentiate of Music Western Board in 1942.  She was the first person to be awarded a Baccalaureate degree in music from the University of Manitoba.  Miss Broadfoot achieved international recognition and distinction as one of Canada’s foremost Senior piano teachers.  Included among her students are Andrea Battista, Douglas Finch and Emmanuel Ax. 

Jean Broadfoot was associated with the Winnipeg Music Festival as a competitor, an accompanist, and as a member of the Board of Directors.  In addition to her involvement with the Festival, she actively promoted music education and the Festival movement in the Province of Manitoba, serving as a syllabus advisor to the Associated Manitoba Arts Festivals and as an adjudicator at most of the festivals throughout the province.  She also served many local, provincial and national organizations in a leadership capacity.


1997 Leanne Regehr
1998 Darryl Friesen
1999 Andrea Schellenberg
2000 Jennifer Sau-Man Tan
2001 Darryl Friesen
2002 Sheldon Xu
2003 Nina Zhou
2004 Caleb Yeung
2005 Sheldon Xu
2006 Sheldon Xu
2007 Sheldon Xu
2008 Christopher Kayler
2009 Lotus (Luhe) Yang
2010 Tony Zhou
2011 Antonia Zhu
2012 Ryan Wang
2013 Matthew Packer
2014 Albert Chen
2015 Albert Chen
2016 Justin Lin
2017 Angela Suet Kee Ng
2018 Albert Chen