Harold L. Scarth Memorial Trophy


Harold L. Scarth Memorial Trophy

Harold L. Scarth Memorial Trophy
Awarded for the most outstanding performance in a competition of boys with unchanged voices, 12 and 14 years of age & under 

Mrs. H.L. Scarth donated the Harold L. Scarth Memorial Trophy to the Winnipeg Music Festival in 1956.  This trophy was initially awarded in an annual competition of winners from girls and boys vocal classes.  In 1959 this was changed to boys only.  Today the trophy is awarded for the most outstanding performance in a competition of boys with unchanged voices, 12 and 14 years of age & under.

Harold L. Scarth was born in 1891 in Liverpool, England and died in 1954.  He came to Canada in 1912.  Shortly after his arrival, he joined Grace Church Choir.  In World War I he served overseas with the Canadian Engineers, and when the armistice was signed was assigned to duty with the Army of Occupation in Germany.  He returned to Canada in 1919.  During World War II he organized a concert group from among members of the Provincial Government staff.  This group travelled to Shilo, Brandon, Gimli and Portage la Prairie, giving programs for members of the armed forces.  Mr. Scarth was a member of the Winnipeg Male Voice Choir, the Philharmonic Choir, the Shrine Chanters and St. Andrews Choir.  He was a choir member and soloist in many Winnipeg churches.


1956 Tom Johnson
1957 Violet Ann Greengrass
1958 Rayleen Giacomin
1959 George Gartrell
1960 Bob Adams
1961 Randy Benson
1962 Paul Rischer
1963 Colin Holbrow
1964 Ronald Little
1965 Donald Churchill
1966 Mark Judd
1967 Michael Crossman
1968 Robert Morrison
1969 Gerald Hébert
1970 David Ehinger
1971 Brendan McGurry
1972 Bruce Johnson
1973 John Packer
1974 Christopher Thomson
1975 Doug Finlayson
1976 Dominic Schaefer
1977 Geoffrey Owen
1978 Christian Keller
1979 Todd Harwood-Jones
1980 Andrew Balfour
1981 Malcolm Tinsley Jr.
1982 Leonard Buckley
1983 Matthew Ball
1984 Jeffrey Tinsley
1985 Leonard Epp
1986 Rob Hermann
1987 David Webster
1988 Jean-Guy Mercier
1989 Jeffrey Schellenberg
1990 John Holbrow Van Benthem
1991 Evan Klassen
1992 Jason Nedecky
1993 Brian Wehrle
1994 Stephen Wiwchar
1995 Justin Hintz
1996 Alastair Thomson
1997 Erik Ritchie
1998 Beau Sweatman
1999 Fraser Thomson

2000 Julian Prokopetz
2001 Stefan Prokopetz
2002 Philip Lockwood
2003 Matthew Fletcher
2004 Joseph Frohlinger
2005 Mathieu Bourrier
2006 John Christian Lewis
2007 Matthew Thomson
2008 Mathieu Bourrier
2009 Quentin Mayhew
2010 Andrew Mayba
2011 Carson Milberg
2012 Peter Dueck
2013 Anton Sokalski
2014 Anton Sokalski
2015 Andrew Evanyshyn
2016 Keenan Lehmann
2017 Alexander Paches
2018 Michael Brown